Boxing Day

It has been a while since I fully embraced Boxing Day. Maybe it’s because the sales aren’t as big nowadays or the fact that I don’t really care about material possessions anymore. I remember what a brat I was when I was younger as I’d get whiny and upset if I left the mall without a shopping bag in hand needless of whether I really wanted that overpriced t-shirt. How my parents dealt with my 13 year old self will always be a mystery.

Now, I never go shopping the day after Christmas. The crowds are insane, the parking lots are a mess, and clothes are never in my size! If I do go, it’s to search for maybe an item or two that I really need (like this year when I wanted to buy a peacoat and even then, the price wasn’t marked down as much as you’d imagine behind the hype of Boxing Day sales).

20131229-134510.jpg

I’m 20 now and have grown up so much. Instead of maneuvering through masses of people at overcrowded malls, I spent my Boxing Day with family and played Operation for the first time! As my 8 year old cousin giggled and taught me how to play, I hoped that when she reaches the preteen years that she wasn’t going to be a superficial nightmare like I was back in the day.

Leave a Reply

